Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Other Daughter

ebook
'A fresh, original, passionate and page-turning story about women's choices and past secrets that demands to be read' Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child
You only get one life – but what if it isn't the one you were meant to live?

'When it finally arrived I was shocked to see it; to read the words Mum wrote about these women fighting for rights I know I take for granted. Mum was here. And while she was, something happened that changed the entire course of my life. Perhaps, if I can summon the courage, the next eight weeks will help me finally figure out what that was . . .'

When Jessica discovers a shocking secret about her birth, she leaves her London home and travels to Switzerland in search of answers. She knows her journalist mother spent time in the country forty years earlier, reporting on the Swiss women's liberation movement, but what she doesn't know is what happened to her while she was there. Can Jess summon the courage to face the truth about her family, or will her search only hurt herself and those around her even more?

Set across a stunning Swiss backdrop, The Other Daughter follows one woman in her search for the truth about her birth, and another desperately trying to succeed in a man's world. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Elizabeth Noble and Kathryn Hughes.
'Fascinating and fast-paced, The Other Daughter had me hooked from the start. A timely reminder of how hard it is to succeed in a man's world' Rosanna Ley, author of From Venice with Love
'Well written and pacy. Full of gorgeous scenery, emotion and SUCH fascinating stuff about women's rights through the decades' Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor
'A tightly plotted and absorbing tale of one woman's journey to uncover the secrets of her birth. It beautifully fuses the personal and the political in its exploration of motherhood and women's rights, as Jess tries to reconcile herself to her own choices, and the choices made by those who came before her' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy
'A gripping and emotional story' Patricia Wilson, author of Greek Island Escape
'I couldn't put it down. I felt totally drawn into the story and invested in the characters' Caroline Scott, author of The Photographer of the Lost
'A fascinating and beautifully told exploration of women's rights and one woman's fight to uncover the secrets of her birth. The Other Daughter is a stunning debut I loved it' Clare Empson, author of Mine

Expand title description text
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781471190063
  • Release date: February 18, 2021

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781471190063
  • File size: 4206 KB
  • Release date: February 18, 2021

Formats

OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

'A fresh, original, passionate and page-turning story about women's choices and past secrets that demands to be read' Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child
You only get one life – but what if it isn't the one you were meant to live?

'When it finally arrived I was shocked to see it; to read the words Mum wrote about these women fighting for rights I know I take for granted. Mum was here. And while she was, something happened that changed the entire course of my life. Perhaps, if I can summon the courage, the next eight weeks will help me finally figure out what that was . . .'

When Jessica discovers a shocking secret about her birth, she leaves her London home and travels to Switzerland in search of answers. She knows her journalist mother spent time in the country forty years earlier, reporting on the Swiss women's liberation movement, but what she doesn't know is what happened to her while she was there. Can Jess summon the courage to face the truth about her family, or will her search only hurt herself and those around her even more?

Set across a stunning Swiss backdrop, The Other Daughter follows one woman in her search for the truth about her birth, and another desperately trying to succeed in a man's world. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Elizabeth Noble and Kathryn Hughes.
'Fascinating and fast-paced, The Other Daughter had me hooked from the start. A timely reminder of how hard it is to succeed in a man's world' Rosanna Ley, author of From Venice with Love
'Well written and pacy. Full of gorgeous scenery, emotion and SUCH fascinating stuff about women's rights through the decades' Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor
'A tightly plotted and absorbing tale of one woman's journey to uncover the secrets of her birth. It beautifully fuses the personal and the political in its exploration of motherhood and women's rights, as Jess tries to reconcile herself to her own choices, and the choices made by those who came before her' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy
'A gripping and emotional story' Patricia Wilson, author of Greek Island Escape
'I couldn't put it down. I felt totally drawn into the story and invested in the characters' Caroline Scott, author of The Photographer of the Lost
'A fascinating and beautifully told exploration of women's rights and one woman's fight to uncover the secrets of her birth. The Other Daughter is a stunning debut I loved it' Clare Empson, author of Mine

Expand title description text